Find us on

Rate/Review the Last Movie You Saw

Home Forums Movies Rate/Review the Last Movie You Saw

Author
  • February 24, 2012 at 11:13 am

    The Go-Getter 4/5 – A friend recommended this movie to me knowing how much I like films like Harold & Maude and Garden State. I watched it on instant watch without knowing anything about it so I shocked that I knew so many of the actors and actresses (including Nick Offerman, Jena Malone and Zooey Deschannel). The story follows Mercer who’s mother has died. He steals a strangers car to go on a road trip to find his estranged brother and tell him of their mother’s death. He begins to start up a friendship with the woman who’s car he stole when she starts talking to him over the cell phone she left in the car. It has some weird dream sequences, bizarre side-characters, a folk-rock soundtrack and great dialogue. It’s basically an indie film by numbers. I’m a huge fan of lead actor Lou Taylor Pucci and have mostly loved all the films I’ve seen him in (except Southland Tales). If you’re into weird Indie films like Thumbsucker or Charlie Bartlett, you’ll probably enjoy this movie too.

    I Also rewatched Young Frankenstein which is a solid 5/5. I wrote a review for that in my blog

  • February 24, 2012 at 11:30 pm

    I JUST finished The Fall. Fuck that movie. I’m all crying and shit.

  • February 25, 2012 at 1:13 am

    Love both of those movies. I especially love the fact that Nick Offerman plays three different characters in the Go-Getter…

    The last movie I watched that I haven’t seen before was “Give’Em Hell Malone” -3/5

    Trying too hard to be a movie that wasn’t taking itself seriously. Not too bad, but probably won’t watch again.

  • February 25, 2012 at 9:12 am

    Superheroes – 3/5 interesting documentary about people dressing up to help prevent crime in their cities by raising awareness, being bait and setting up stings, and helping the homeless. I don’t approve of these people doing, and the thought alone of one of these people being an armed alcoholic scares the bajesus out of me.


    So I tell the swamp donkey to sock it before I give her a trunky in the tradesman’s entrance and have her lick me yarbles!

  • February 25, 2012 at 9:15 am

    I don’t approve of these people either, Fushna… and when I made it known, this happened:

    [video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T3lRCTlUjfo[/video]

  • February 26, 2012 at 12:12 am

    Oh man I forgot about that happening.


    So I tell the swamp donkey to sock it before I give her a trunky in the tradesman’s entrance and have her lick me yarbles!

  • February 26, 2012 at 7:11 am

    The Phantom of the Opera3/5 – I’ve never seen this before and I’ve never heard the original stage-show. So I was actually shocked at how much I enjoyed it. After watching it last night I still have many of the songs stuck in my head. Not as good as the original Lon Chaney silent film but that’s comparing apples to oranges.

  • February 26, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    Drive 6/10 – I think they should of called this movie Pause, instead. There was a hell of a lot more pauses than driving in it.


    Are you always a smart ass? Nope, sometimes I’m asleep.

  • February 28, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    titanic 3d – 7/10
    depressing as all get out. too long. the movie only really gets going when the ship hits the iceberg.

  • March 5, 2012 at 6:36 pm

    Return of the Fly3/5 – It’s been a long time since I saw the original Fly from 1958 but I remember as a kid feeling like it was pretty slow building up to the final reveal. Then I was a little disappointed because every picture I had seen of the Fly (at this time I was only like 8 or 9) the Fly had a GIANT head which I thought was awesome, while this Fly had an average sized head. It wasn’t until recently I found out all the photos I had seen were actually from the sequel so I netflixed it. It’s a pretty good 50’s horror film. I have to rewatch the original but it definitely seemed faster-paced but end in the end it was a rehash of the original but with a *SPOILER ALERT* happy ending… how lame!

  • March 7, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    House (1977)3.5/5 – First things first… what the fuck is wrong with Japanese people? I’ve been hearing about this film over the last 2-3 years and despite everyone telling me that it was too weird for words… I was still shocked by how weird it was. The simple plot summary is that a house eats 6 Japanese school girls, but that’d be understating the surrealistic elements of this movie. Mutant cats, man eating pianos, weird animation. This movie has it all (whatever that all is). It reminds me of films like Monty Python’s Holy Grail meets Forbidden Zone. I can’t say I recommend this to Everyone but if you dig fucked up and weird horror movies with micro-budgets this film is up your alley.

  • March 8, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    I love Hausu. So insane. Bought the Criterion Blu-Ray

  • March 9, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    Saw John Carter last night, a movie I did not plan on seeing now or ever, and I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it. I still cannot believe the budget Disney went with, or that the made the movie at all. I mean, I’d watch it again, but I can’t imagine the audience Disney had in mind to warrant 250million. To me, it felt like the movie was made for my demographic (18-25), but forty years ago.

    The story was whatever–standard pulp nonsense (which I am a fan of)–, but I still found myself laughing at appropriate times (in addition to inappropriate times). I love the Roman/Egyptian hybrids that they went with for the costumes and the Stargate-esque tech.

    It obviously has its flaws, but as a popcorn noming flick, I’d tell people to go. At the very least, the visuals are pretty solid. It won’t impact your worldview, but it may ease some tension after a hard week.

  • March 9, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    The Swinging Cheerleaders2/5 – So I first heard of this movie when it appeared in the 50 Worst Movies Ever Made list/movie. Being someone who actively hunts down bad movies I was very excited to find it on hulu. Man on man… which a piece of garbage. For every great comedy from the 70’s like Animal House there were about 10 movies that sank like fucking stones like this one. It’s not the worst movie I’ve ever seen… but it’s definitely top 50 material. Even nudity can’t completely make it entertaining.

    Dead Heat3.5/5 – After the unintentional insanity and borderline soft core porn aspects of Swinging Cheerleaders I decided to watch something that looked Intentionally ridiculous, and I correctly judged the book by it’s cover. After a ‘regeneration device’ is created it’s up to two police officers (one who’s now a zombie thanks to the regeneration device) to stop a mad scientists plan. This involves fighting zombie criminals, ducks, pigs and at point a giant chicken. This movie should suck, but instead it’s a true delight (in that Repo Man/Street Trash sorta way)

  • March 13, 2012 at 12:28 am

    Super – 3/5: Very much like Kick-Ass, Rainn Wilson was very good in it, but I could have done without psycho Ellen Paige

    The Help – 4/5: Pretty good. Very funny, but very sad as well.

    Paper Man – 4/5: I actually really liked this movie. It had a slow start, but Jeff Daniels and Emma Stone have really great effed up, familial chemistry

  • March 13, 2012 at 6:19 am

    I liked Super a lot more than Kick Ass personally

  • March 18, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    Screw everyone that didn’t like John Carter, I thought that movie was a blast… reminded me of of all sorts of 60s sci fi flicks.

  • March 18, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    Hell yeah, Satori! Laura and I had a great time as well!

  • March 18, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    21 Jump Street3.5/5 – This movie was better than it had any right to be. It was funny, gory and insane. It’s far from perfect but it definitely reminds me of something like McGruber, just packed full of violence, vulgarity and quotes.

    Jeff, Who Lives At Home 4/5 – While it’s still VERY Indie by numbers this is my favorite thing the Duplass Brothers have done. Genuinely funny and Genuinely good hearted

    Xtro3.5/5 – I’ve been interested in seeing this movie for a long time. It’s a bizarre and gory sci-fi film from the 80’s. If you’ve ever wanted to see a woman give birth to a full grown man… look no further.

  • March 19, 2012 at 6:50 am

    I’m trying to work out why it would get bad reviews then, it’s a crazy fun movie… the complains I’ve heard is that it’s too long… to me it was just the right length.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 120 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.